Delegates Kilgore, O'Quin, Wampler, Rush, Campbell, & Poindexter Endorse Miyares for Attorney Genera


Thursday, January 28, 2021

Contact: 757-699-1776

Southwest Virginia Delegates Kilgore, O'Quinn, Wampler, Rush, Campbell, & Poindexter Endorse Jason Miyares for Attorney General

VIRGINIA BEACH, VA - Today, Delegates Terry Kilgore, Israel O’Quinn, Will Wampler, Nick Rush, Jeff Campbell, and Charlie Poindexter endorsed conservative Jason Miyares for Attorney General.

Terry Kilgore said, “I have worked with Jason for many years, and I know that he is a principled conservative who will fight to keep our communities safe, defend our second amendment rights, and stand strong for our values. Southwest Virginia will have a strong ally with him as our Attorney General.”

Israel O’Quinn said, “I started my career in the Attorney General’s Office, and I know what it takes to be successful. Jason will be ready on day one to make a great Attorney General. He supports our law enforcement, the Second Amendment, and creating a pro-business legal climate, all key issues to Southwest Virginia.”

Will Wampler said “We need an Attorney General who will stand with our law enforcement officers, victims of crime, and will not use the office for political purposes. I know Jason will be that leader. As a former prosecutor, he understands what it takes to keep our neighborhoods safe and will use that experience to serve the people of Virginia as Attorney General.”

Nick Rush said, “Because Jason is a former prosecutor, he understands what it takes to keep our communities safe. He has been a leading voice in Richmond fighting for Virginia and will be a strong advocate for our families as Attorney General.”

Jeff Campbell said “I am proud to support Jason for Attorney General. He is a strong supporter of the Second Amendment and will be supportive of the values of Southwest Virginia.”

Charlie Poindexter said, "Jason Miyares has been a tremendous conservative voice in the General Assembly and will make a fantastic Attorney General. He stands with Law Enforcement and will put a check on the liberal takeover in Richmond. Putting a conservative champion like Jason Miyares in the Attorney General's office is a good first step."

Jason Miyares said “I appreciate the strong support from these Southwest Virginia leaders. We need an Attorney General who will defend our values, protect our constitutional rights, and keep our communities safe. That is what I will do as Attorney General, and I look forward to working with Terry, Israel, Will, Nick, Jeff, and Charlie to do just that.

To join these Southwest Virginia leaders in supporting conservative Jason Miyares for Attorney General, join his campaign today by clicking here

On December 2, Miyares announced his candidacy for the Republican nomination for Virginia Attorney General. In one month, Miyares raised more than $250,000. He has the highest percentage of in-state donors in the race for Attorney General. Miyares has secured dozens of endorsements from elected officials, Unit Chairmen, State Central Committee Chairs, former statewide elected officials, and conservative activists. Miyares is building solid levels of support from all regions of the Commonwealth, including Richmond, Northern Virginia, Southwest Virginia, the Valley, and Hampton Roads. Additional endorsements will be announced in the days and weeks ahead.

These Southwest Virginia leaders join the growing list of endorsements for Jason Miyares:

Statewide Elected Officials:

Governor George Allen, Former Governor of Virginia

Attorney General Mark Earley, Former Attorney General Mark Earley

House of Delegates:

Delegate Rob Bell, (R-58) [Counties of Albemarle (part), Fluvanna (part), Greene, and Rockingham (part)]

Delegate Emily Brewer, (R-64) [Counties of Isle of Wight, Prince George (part) and Surry; City of Suffolk (part]

Delegate Mark Cole, (R-88) [Counties of Fauquier (part), Spotsylvania (part), and Stafford (part); City of Fredericksburg (part)]

Delegate Matt Fariss, (R-59) [Counties of Albemarle (part), Appomattox, Buckingham, Campbell (part) and Nelson (part)]

Delegate Jay Leftwich, (R-78) [City of Chesapeake (part)]

Delegate Margaret Ransone, (R-99th) [Counties of Caroline (part), King George, Lancaster, Northumberland, Richmond and Westmoreland]

Delegate Lee Ware, (R-58) [Counties of Chesterfield (part), Powhatan, Fluvanna (part), and Goochland (part)]

Delegate Tony Wilt, (R-26) [Counties of Rockingham (part); City of Harrisonburg]

State Senators:

Senator John Cosgrove, (R-14) [Cities of Chesapeake (part), Virginia Beach (part), Counties Isle of Wight (part), Southampton (part), Franklin City (part), Portsmouth City (part), Suffolk City (part)]

Senator Bill DeSteph, (R-8) [City of Virginia Beach]

Steve Martin, Former State Senator (R-11) (Chesterfield, Colonial Heights, Amelia)

Jeff McWaters, Former State Senator (R-8) (Virginia Beach) and Founder and former CEO of Amerigroup

Other Republican Leaders:

David Botkins, Executive Committee, Henrico Republican Committee

Pamela Brown, Former Chair, Norfolk Republican Committee

Curtis D. Colgate, Past Chairman, 2nd District Republican Committee and RPV Finance Committee

Chuck Cunningham, Former Political Director, NRA Institute for Legislative Action

Belinda Dexter, VFRW, 2nd District Chair

Cliff Dunn, Member, State Central Committee – 3rd District, former Chairman, Newport News Republican Committee

Dennis Free, Chair, 2nd District Republican Committee

Commodore Kenny Golden, Past Chairman, Virginia Beach Republican Party

Elaine Hanger, Former Secretary, Chesterfield County Republican Committee

Louise D. Hartz, Former President, Virginia Society for Human Life

Chaz W. Haywood, Republican Clerk of the Court, Rockingham County

Colleen Holcomb, President, Eagle Forum*

Ruble A. Hord, III, Former Member, RPV Finance Committee

Gregg Keller, Former Executive Director, Faith & Freedom Coalition*

Laura Logie, 2018 Republican Party of Virginia Volunteer of the Year

Penny Young Nance, President, Concerned Women for America*

Robb Stubbs, Chairman, Northampton Republican Committee

Tina Sinnen, Republican Clerk of the Court, Virginia Beach

Mauricio Tamargo, Member, Republican State Central Committee, 11th District (Fairfax)

Carole de Triquet, Member, Republican State Central Committee – 3rd District, Past Chairman, Chesapeake Republican Committee

Carmen Williams, Member, Chesterfield County Republican Committee

*Note that organization names are for identification purposes only and do not imply endorsement of those organizations.

To get involved with Jason's campaign, click here.

About Jason

Jason’s story begins with his mother, Miriam Maria Miyares, who fled communist Cuba in 1965 with only the clothes on her back. She legally immigrated to the United States and instilled in her three sons a passionate love of the freedom and democracy of America. Jason grew up in Virginia Beach and eventually graduated from James Madison University with a Bachelor's in Business Administration, and the College of William & Mary School of Law with a Juris Doctor degree. As a former criminal prosecutor in Virginia Beach, Jason prosecuted over 600 criminal cases and helped keep violent criminals off the streets. In November of 2015, he won election to the 82nd District for the House of Delegates as conservative Republican. He lives in Virginia Beach, with his wife Page Atkinson Miyares, owner of a third-generation family owned small business.