Morton Blackwell Endorses Jason Miyares


Tuesday, February 9, 2021

Contact: 757-699-1776

Morton Blackwell Endorses Jason Miyares for Attorney General

VIRGINIA BEACH, VA - Today, Conservative icon Morton Blackwell endorsed Jason Miyares for Attorney General. Morton is President of the Leadership Institute and serves as Virginia's national committeeman to the Republican National Committee. He has been involved with conservative causes for decades, including serving in Ronald Reagan's White House.

Statement from Morton Blackwell:

"I have known Delegate Jason Miyares for nearly 25 years. He's a leader in the trenches fighting for the conservative cause. He will make a superb Attorney General for the Commonwealth as the Republican Party builds a new conservative resurgence to provide a check and balance in Richmond to the out-of-control Leftists who are destroying the rule of law and constitutional norms. I confidently endorse Jason, a proven leader."

Jason Miyares said “It is an honor to have the endorsement of Morton Blackwell, a conservative icon and long time leader of the conservative movement in Virginia. As we work towards the Great Virginia Comeback, I’m honored to have the support of Morton and so many grassroots conservatives in our campaign for Attorney General. It is time we have an Attorney General that will obey the Constitution, protect our liberties and build a Virginia that works with our police instead of defunding them."

To become a Delegate to the RPV Convention, click here

On December 2, Miyares announced his candidacy for the Republican nomination for Virginia Attorney General. In one month, Miyares raised more than $250,000. He has the highest percentage of in-state donors in the race for Attorney General. Miyares has secured dozens of endorsements from elected officials, Unit Chairmen, State Central Committee Chairs, former statewide elected officials, and conservative activists. Miyares is building solid levels of support from all regions of the Commonwealth, including Richmond, Northern Virginia, Southwest Virginia, the Valley, and Hampton Roads. Additional endorsements will be announced in the days and weeks ahead.

Morton Blackwell joins the growing list of endorsements for Jason Miyares:

Statewide Elected Officials:

Governor George Allen, Former Governor of Virginia

Attorney General Mark Earley, Former Attorney General Mark Earley

House of Delegates:

Delegate Terry Austin (R-19) [Counties of Alleghany, Bedford (part), and Botetourt (part); City of Covington]

Delegate John Avoli (R-20) [Counties of Augusta (part), Highland, and Nelson (part); Cities of Staunton and Waynesboro]

Delegate Rob Bell (R-58) [Counties of Albemarle (part), Fluvanna (part), Greene, and Rockingham (part)]

Delegate Emily Brewer (R-64) [Counties of Isle of Wight, Prince George (part) and Surry; City of Suffolk (part]

Delegate Jeff Campbell (R-6) [Counties of Carroll, Smyth (part), and Wythe]

Delegate Mark Cole (R-88) [Counties of Fauquier (part), Spotsylvania (part), and Stafford (part); City of Fredericksburg (part)]

Delegate Matt Fariss (R-59) [Counties of Albemarle (part), Appomattox, Buckingham, Campbell (part) and Nelson (part)]

Delegate Todd Gilbert (R-15) [Counties of Page, Rockingham (part), Shenandoah, and Warren (part)]

Rocky Holcomb, (R-85) Former Member of the House of Delegates [City of Virginia Beach (part)]

Delegate Terry Kilgore (R-1) [Counties of Lee, Scott, and Wise (part); City of Norton]

Delegate Jay Leftwich (R-78) [City of Chesapeake (part)]

Delegate Israel O'Quinn (R-5) [Counties of Grayson, Smyth (part), and Washington (part); Cities of Bristol]

Delegate Charlie Poindexter (R-9) [Counties of Franklin (part), Henry (part) and Patrick]

Delegate Margaret Ransone (R-99th) [Counties of Caroline (part), King George, Lancaster, Northumberland, Richmond and Westmoreland]

Delegate Nick Rush (R-7) [Counties of Floyd, Montgomery (part), and Pulaski (part)]

Delegate Wendell Walker (R-23) [Counties of Amherst (part) and Bedford (part); City of Lynchburg (part)]

Delegate Will Wampler (R-4 [Counties of Dickenson, Russell (part), Washington (part), and Wise (part)]

Delegate Lee Ware (R-58) [Counties of Chesterfield (part), Powhatan, Fluvanna (part), and Goochland (part)]

Delegate Tony Wilt (R-26) [Counties of Rockingham (part); City of Harrisonburg]

State Senators:

Bill Carrico, Former State Senator (R-40)

Senator John Cosgrove (R-14) [Cities of Chesapeake (part), Virginia Beach (part), Counties Isle of Wight (part), Southampton (part), Franklin City (part), Portsmouth City (part), Suffolk City (part)]

Senator Bill DeSteph (R-8) [City of Virginia Beach]

Ken Stolle, Sheriff, Virginia Beach and Former State Senator (R-8)

Steve Martin, Former State Senator (R-11) (Chesterfield, Colonial Heights, Amelia)

Jeff McWaters, Former State Senator (R-8) (Virginia Beach) and Founder and former CEO of Amerigroup

Republican Leaders:

David Botkins, Executive Committee, Henrico Republican Committee

Pamela Brown, Former Chair, Norfolk Republican Committee

Harvey Bryant, Former Commonwealth’s Attorney, Virginia Beach

John Brownlee, Former United States Attorney, Western District of Virginia

Curtis D. Colgate, Past Chairman, 2nd District Republican Committee and RPV Finance Committee

Chuck Cunningham, Former Political Director, NRA Institute for Legislative Action

Bill Curtis, Chair, Virginia Beach Republican Party

Belinda Dexter, VFRW, 2nd District Chair

Cliff Dunn, Member, State Central Committee – 3rd District, former Chairman, Newport News Republican Committee

Dennis Free, Chair, 2nd District Republican Committee

Commodore Kenny Golden, Past Chairman, Virginia Beach Republican Party

Elaine Hanger, Former Secretary, Chesterfield County Republican Committee

Louise D. Hartz, Former President, Virginia Society for Human Life

Chaz W. Haywood, Republican Clerk of the Court, Rockingham County

Colleen Holcomb, President, Eagle Forum*

Ruble A. Hord, III, Former Member, RPV Finance Committee

Chuck James, Former Chief Deputy Attorney General of Virginia

Gregg Keller, Former Executive Director, Faith & Freedom Coalition*

Laura Logie, 2018 Republican Party of Virginia Volunteer of the Year

Patrick McCranie, Sheriff, Lancaster County

Penny Young Nance, President, Concerned Women for America*

Nicholas Proffitt, Chair, Chesapeake Republican Party​

Chuck Slemp, Commonwealth’s Attorney, Wise County

Colin Stolle, Commonwealth’s Attorney, Virginia Beach

Rob Stubbs, Chair, Northampton Republican Committee

Tina Sinnen, Republican Clerk of the Court, Virginia Beach

Mauricio Tamargo, Member, Republican State Central Committee, 11th District (Fairfax)

Ashley Taylor, Former Deputy Attorney General of Virginia

Carole de Triquet, Member, Republican State Central Committee – 3rd District, Past Chairman, Chesapeake Republican Committee

Carmen Williams, Member, Chesterfield County Republican Committee

*Note that organization names are for identification purposes only and do not imply endorsement of those organizations.

To get involved with Jason's campaign, click here.