Sixth Congressional District Delegates Gilbert, Wilt, Avoli, Austin, and Walker Endorse Jason Miyare


Friday, January 29, 2021

Contact: 757-699-1776

Sixth Congressional District Delegates Gilbert, Wilt, Avoli, Austin, and Walker Endorse Jason Miyares for Attorney General

VIRGINIA BEACH, VA - Today, Delegates Todd Gilbert, Tony Wilt, John Avoli, Terry Austin, and Wendell Walker endorsed conservative Jason Miyares for Attorney General.

Todd Gilbert said, “Virginia needs an Attorney General that will follow the rule of law and will recognize the legislature’s role in the lawmaking process. Jason will be an Attorney General that will defend the laws that legislators pass without imposing the views outside of the legislative process. I have worked with him in Richmond to fight the radical left-wing policies we are seeing from the Democrats, and I know he will take that same fight to the Office of Attorney General. We will also be able to count on him to protect all our constitutional rights, including the foundational right to keep and bear arms.”

Tony Wilt said, “I have worked with Jason for many years. He is a rock-solid conservative who is always one of the first to stand up and fight for our principles. He will be an Attorney General we can trust to do what is right and keep our communities safe.”

John Avoli said “I have seen Jason take on the tough fights and do what is right. He is a conservative who we can depend on to defend our principles and fight for the people of Virginia. As Attorney General, we will have an ally who will work tirelessly to keep our communities safe and uphold the rule of law.”

Terry Austin said “We need an Attorney General who will stand with our law enforcement officers, work to keep our neighborhood safe, and keep violent criminals behind bars. As a former prosecutor, Jason understands what it takes to keep our neighborhoods safe and I trust him to work for every Virginian. He will make an outstanding Attorney General.”

Wendell Walker said, “Jason will make a fantastic Attorney General. He stands for the Second Amendment, Life, and Law Enforcement. He is just the fighter we need to uphold our Conservative values.”

Jason Miyares said “I appreciate the support of these conservative leaders in my campaign for Attorney General. I know that by working together we can defend our values, protect our constitutional rights, and keep our communities safe. That is what I will do as Attorney General and I look forward to working with Todd, Tony, John, Terry, and Wendell to keep Virginia safe.

On December 2, Miyares announced his candidacy for the Republican nomination for Virginia Attorney General. In one month, Miyares raised more than $250,000. He has the highest percentage of in-state donors in the race for Attorney General. Miyares has secured dozens of endorsements from elected officials, Unit Chairmen, State Central Committee Chairs, former statewide elected officials, and conservative activists. Miyares is building solid levels of support from all regions of the Commonwealth, including Richmond, Northern Virginia, Southwest Virginia, the Valley, and Hampton Roads. Additional endorsements will be announced in the days and weeks ahead.

These Virginia leaders join the growing list of endorsements for Jason Miyares:

Statewide Elected Officials:

Governor George Allen, Former Governor of Virginia

Attorney General Mark Earley, Former Attorney General Mark Earley

House of Delegates:

Delegate Rob Bell (R-58) [Counties of Albemarle (part), Fluvanna (part), Greene, and Rockingham (part)]

Delegate Emily Brewer (R-64) [Counties of Isle of Wight, Prince George (part) and Surry; City of Suffolk (part]

Delegate Jeff Campbell (R-6) [Counties of Carroll, Smyth (part), and Wythe]

Delegate Mark Cole (R-88) [Counties of Fauquier (part), Spotsylvania (part), and Stafford (part); City of Fredericksburg (part)]

Delegate Matt Fariss (R-59) [Counties of Albemarle (part), Appomattox, Buckingham, Campbell (part) and Nelson (part)]

Delegate Terry Kilgore (R-1) [Counties of Lee, Scott, and Wise (part); City of Norton]

Delegate Jay Leftwich (R-78) [City of Chesapeake (part)]

Delegate Israel O'Quinn (R-5) [Counties of Grayson, Smyth (part), and Washington (part); Cities of Bristol]

Delegate Charlie Poindexter (R-9) [Counties of Franklin (part), Henry (part) and Patrick]

Delegate Margaret Ransone (R-99th) [Counties of Caroline (part), King George, Lancaster, Northumberland, Richmond and Westmoreland]

Delegate Nick Rush (R-7) [Counties of Floyd, Montgomery (part), and Pulaski (part)]

Delegate Will Wampler (R-4 [Counties of Dickenson, Russell (part), Washington (part), and Wise (part)]

Delegate Lee Ware (R-58) [Counties of Chesterfield (part), Powhatan, Fluvanna (part), and Goochland (part)]

State Senators:

Senator John Cosgrove, (R-14) [Cities of Chesapeake (part), Virginia Beach (part), Counties Isle of Wight (part), Southampton (part), Franklin City (part), Portsmouth City (part), Suffolk City (part)]

Senator Bill DeSteph, (R-8) [City of Virginia Beach]

Steve Martin, Former State Senator (R-11) (Chesterfield, Colonial Heights, Amelia)

Jeff McWaters, Former State Senator (R-8) (Virginia Beach) and Founder and former CEO of Amerigroup

Other Republican Leaders:

David Botkins, Executive Committee, Henrico Republican Committee

Pamela Brown, Former Chair, Norfolk Republican Committee

Curtis D. Colgate, Past Chairman, 2nd District Republican Committee and RPV Finance Committee

Chuck Cunningham, Former Political Director, NRA Institute for Legislative Action

Belinda Dexter, VFRW, 2nd District Chair

Cliff Dunn, Member, State Central Committee – 3rd District, former Chairman, Newport News Republican Committee

Dennis Free, Chair, 2nd District Republican Committee

Commodore Kenny Golden, Past Chairman, Virginia Beach Republican Party

Elaine Hanger, Former Secretary, Chesterfield County Republican Committee

Louise D. Hartz, Former President, Virginia Society for Human Life

Chaz W. Haywood, Republican Clerk of the Court, Rockingham County

Colleen Holcomb, President, Eagle Forum*

Ruble A. Hord, III, Former Member, RPV Finance Committee

Gregg Keller, Former Executive Director, Faith & Freedom Coalition*

Laura Logie, 2018 Republican Party of Virginia Volunteer of the Year

Penny Young Nance, President, Concerned Women for America*

Robb Stubbs, Chairman, Northampton Republican Committee

Tina Sinnen, Republican Clerk of the Court, Virginia Beach

Mauricio Tamargo, Member, Republican State Central Committee, 11th District (Fairfax)

Carole de Triquet, Member, Republican State Central Committee – 3rd District, Past Chairman, Chesapeake Republican Committee

Carmen Williams, Member, Chesterfield County Republican Committee

*Note that organization names are for identification purposes only and do not imply endorsement of those organizations.